abijam

Weak One

In Uncategorized on August 3, 2014 at 1:17 pm

So it’s been a week since I stopped drinking alcohol.

It’s gone pretty well; I recovered from last weekend by wednesday evening and felt positive about everything by Thursday.

Friday was our works meal with some ladies from the office. I opted to be designated driver and that seemed to work very well.

‘I have a no alcohol rule when I drive’

No arguments.

I watched everyone drinking their gin and tonics, red wine, rum and coke etc as I sipped on my diet coke and kept my water topped up.

I noticed how quickly I drink. I noticed that I didn’t waste anything, I even crunched on the ice.

I noticed that I compensated my alcohol for a large steak.

Yesterday was a Saturday night and I decided to stay in and do house work, which sounds incredibly dull, but it was actually amazing.

I painted my nails, cleaned the kitchen and bathroom, watched a movie and slept for ten hours, and do you know the best bit? I woke with no hangover, no regrets, no depressive thoughts. The sun was shining and I felt alive.

No alcohol in my system feels like control. I feel scared when I think of going on a night out and waking up not knowing where Ive been or what Ive done.

I am sitting writing this at my breakfast bar with some beautiful flowers in a vase by side and some chicken in the oven. This time last week I hated everything and everyone.

I never want to feel like that again.

One day at a time.

  1. That sounds absolutely wonderful, Abi!I don’t know you but I am truly happy for you.One day at a time, hugs =)

Leave a Reply

