abijam

Pro’s and Con’s

In Alcohol, Drink, Drinking, health, mental health, Sobriety on April 27, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Day 7 of no drinking (whoop! Tiny milestone alert) 

It occurred to me today that even though I usually have good gut instincts about most things, whatever you choose to do with your life; each decision comes with a list of pro’s and con’s.

Im at a pivotal point in my life where change could make everything completely different or I could just stick with what I have been doing and hope that with perseverance and time, things will work out for me.

I felt like a decision as big as this, a list of pro’s and con’s would be a good idea; so tonight I sat down with a tea and drew up a fairly substantial list.

The list turned out to be pretty biased towards making changes but is that simply because if you make changes you’re gambling with life’s possibilities; essentially you could double or nothing. You could fall in love in another city or country, you could learn new skills, you could meet people and they would never have to know who you once were… or you could fail and your old life may reject you even more than it currently does.

I constantly get cravings to travel and learn more and by nature I am not one for settling or slowly building things up. I am more run, jump and dive head first.

For the first time in my life I have made big commitments; buying a house, I’m in a managerial job at the family business for over a year and I have decided to not drink, so perhaps I may regret rushing away from this?

Ive also noticed how influential other people can be on making big decisions, sometimes people close to you have their own plans for you without meaning to be controlling. Even complete strangers can subtly be influential.

Ive just watched the film eat pray love (cheesy, I know) but some elements made sense to me. At the end Julia Roberts gets very philosophical about the fact that everyone we meet is a teacher and if you take everything on board then life is full of clues. The film itself wasn’t the best but it got me to think.

I started thinking about people who had come in and out of my life and the people who stand out most are the people who have caused me the most pain. Those people also gave me some of the best times and they taught me the most about myself.

Ive been getting to know someone recently who I could put into the category of ‘teacher’ too. Even though we have never met, we speak on the phone most days at work and he has such a different view of life than anybody else I know. He is unreliable, funny, culturally different, relaxed, unmotivated, knowledgable and just different. I speak to him during work because our office is very serious and he makes me laugh and smile uncontrollably. He doesn’t understand my situation but I feel like he knows a side to me no one else does.

He’s a big drinker and has encouraged me to drink in the past without malicious intent but just to encourage me to ‘get out more’.

Last week, he encouraged me to organise a bbq with my friends and I thought ‘why not?’ I took it as a sign that I should be making for of an effort with my ‘friends’. The bbq turned out to be a bit of a flop, and I ended up getting so shit faced drunk to make up for it, hence why I decided to quit drinking. If he hadn’t of suggested the bbq, perhaps I may still be drinking and I wouldn’t have rethought a lot of things.

Since 7 days of non drinking I have done a 10km run, I have researched courses to study and I have considered changing every aspect of my life.

There are pro’s and con’s to every decision, but sometimes its the teachers in our lives who help us make those decisions.

Perhaps life is full of clues?

  1. Well done… well written and observed… if only we can spot the clues we could improve our lives big time

Leave a Reply

